17th Rußbach School on Nuclear Astrophysics, March 2020- cancelled due to covid-19 epidemy

Rußbach am Paß Gschütt, Austria

Rußbach am Paß Gschütt, Austria

Gasthof Auswinkl Gseng 57 5442 Rußbach am Pass Gschütt Austria.

The 17th Russbach School on Nuclear Astrophysics will take place in 2022. Please visit


for more information.

Last important message : Due to the covid-19 epidemy and the travel restrictions for many countries, we are unfortunately forced to cancel the 17th Edition of the school. We apologize for all of you who booked a flight or train ticket.

As the school takes place each year, we plan to convene all contacted lecturers next year, thus keeping as much as possible the same scientific program.

We are in discussion with the hotels' owners to propose a date for 2021. Stay safe and healthy meanwhile.

Important: If you have not done yet, please fill the google form https://forms.gle/wbqTFfvB6ktfasZf7 for a pre-check-in at your hotel. This is necessary to receive the guest card that can be used as ticket for free public transport between Salzburg, Golling-Abtenau and Russbach.

We announce that the 17th Russbach School on Nuclear Astrophysics will again take place at the village of Rußbach am Paß Gschütt, southeast of Salzburg, Austria. The school dates will be from March 15 (arrival and registration) to March 21 (departure) 2020. This school belongs to the European Network of Nuclear Astrophysics Schools (ENNAS). We shall limit the number of participants to about 60 to ensure a convivial atmosphere, and the possibility to share dinners between all participants.

In keeping with its tradition, the school will bring together specialists from the various sub-fields of astrophysics, astronomy, cosmochemistry and nuclear physics with the aim to raise mutual interest and to teach under- and postgraduate students, young post-docs as well as senior scientists interested to be introduced to nuclear astrophysics. The school will be organized in major topical sessions, with dedicated lecture time for basic introduction, presentations of the various aspects of the topic, and ample time for discussions and out-door activities in the Dachstein West mountain region.

Students and young researchers are highly encouraged to give oral presentations. The websites for previous schools, for those interested in seeing a historical overview of some of our previous lecturers, can be found at the following links:

2019 School: https://indico.ph.tum.de/event/4158/
2018 School: https://indico.ph.tum.de/event/3845/
2017 School: http://indico.universe-cluster.de/indico/event/russbach2017
2016 School: http://www.universe-cluster.de/russbach2016
2015 School: http://www.universe-cluster.de/russbach2015
2014 School: http://russbachwks2014.sciencesconf.org/

Registration and abstract submission is closed, the deadline was January 31, 2020.

The accommodation expenses for the school's duration, including half board (breakfast and dinner), are as follows: approx. €420 for a double-room, and approx. €480  for a single room. These include taxes, and these prices include your breakfast and your evening dinner (lunch is not included). Note further that single rooms are reserved for special cases, such as speakers with accompanying family/children. In addition, we will ask for modest registration fees for senior scientists, post-docs and PhD students. There will be no fee for undergraduate students.

The specific site of the school is the Hotel Gasthof Auswinkl, the location of which can be found here.

School poster:





Additional Info:

  • Alexandra Spiridon
  • Alison Hunt
  • Anastasia Cassisa
  • Andras Vitez-Sveiczer
  • Bernadette Rebeiro
  • Chloé Fougères
  • David Werner
  • Djamila Sarah HARROUZ
  • Emma Monpribat
  • Felix Heim
  • Fernando Montes
  • Francois de Oliveira Santos
  • Gabriel Martinez-Pinedo
  • Gerhard Schmidt
  • Goran Stanić
  • Haykuhi Mkrtchyan
  • Hendrik Schulte
  • Ion Burducea
  • Jean Nippert
  • János Kodolányi
  • Jérôme Guilet
  • Karl-Ludwig Kratz
  • Konrad Schmidt
  • Madalina Ravar
  • Marcelo Rubio
  • Martin Müller
  • Matej Lipoglavsek
  • Michael Hannawald
  • Mohammed Akram Zermane
  • Nando Patat
  • Nicolas de Séréville
  • Nikolay Shchechilin
  • olivier sorlin
  • roland diehl
  • Roza Avetisyan
  • Tobias Schröder
  • Vinzenz Velten
  • Vladimir Manea
The agenda of this meeting is empty