12-18 March 2017
Rußbach am Paß Gschütt, Austria
Europe/Berlin timezone
We are pleased to announce that the 14th Russbach School on Nuclear Astrophysics will again take place at the village of Rußbach am Paß Gschütt, southeast of Salzburg, Austria. The school dates will be from March 12 (arrival) to March 18 (departure) 2017. This school belongs to the European Network of Nuclear Astrophysics Schools (ENNAS). We shall limit the number of participants to about 60 to ensure a convivial atmosphere, and the possibility to share dinners between all participants.

In keeping with its tradition, the school will bring together specialists from the various sub-fields of astrophysics, astronomy, cosmochemistry and nuclear physics with the aim to raise mutual interest and to teach under- and postgraduate students, young post-docs as well as senior scientists interested to be introduced to nuclear astrophysics. The school will be organized in major topical sessions, with dedicated lecture time for basic introduction, presentations of the various aspects of the topic, and ample time for discussions and out-door activities in the Dachstein West mountain region.

Students and young researchers are highly encouraged to give oral presentations. The websites for previous schools, for those interested in seeing a historical overview of some of our previous lecturers, can be found at the following links:

2016 School: http://www.universe-cluster.de/russbach2016
2015 School: http://www.universe-cluster.de/russbach2015
2014 School: http://russbachwks2014.sciencesconf.org/

We are presently accepting abstracts and, if you are interested to give a presentation, please use the abstract link in the navigation menu. The deadline for abstract submissions is:  January 31, 2017.

The expenses for the school, including half board (breakfast and dinner), will be as follows: approx. €60/day for a double-room, and approx. €70/day for a single room. These include taxes, and these prices also include your breakfast and your evening dinner (lunch is not included). Note further that single rooms are reserved for special cases, such as speakers with accompanying family/children. In addition, we will ask for modest registration fees for senior scientists, post-docs and PhD students. There will be no fee for undergraduate students.

The specific site of the school is the Hotel Gasthof Auswinkl, the location of which can be found here.

Our scientific advisory committee consists of the following persons:

M. Busso (Perugia) S. Nishimura (Wako)
R. Diehl (Munich) U. Ott (Mainz/Szombathely)
J. Duprat (Orsay)  M. Pignatari(Hull)
M. El Eid (Beirut) R. Pizzone (Catania)
A. Frebel (Cambridge, USA) F. Primas (Garching)
F. Hammache (Orsay) F.-K. Thielemann (Basel)
Ch. Iliadis (Chapel Hill) L. Trache (Bucharest)
J. Jose (Barcelona) W.B. Walters (Maryland)
J. Margueron (Lyon/Seattle) A. Zilges (Cologne)
M. Junker (L'Aquila) M. Lipoglavsek (Ljubljana)

Rußbach am Paß Gschütt, Austria
Gasthof Auswinkl Gseng 57 5442 Rußbach am Pass Gschütt Austria.